Create In Me A Clean Heart


“Create in me a clean heart, O God. And renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)
I woke up  in a sweat with crushing chest pain at 4 AM last Sunday morning and was taken by my wife straight to our small town ER only a mile or so away. They ran some tests and then transported me via ambulance to a well known, well respected  Heart Hospital, 75 miles away. The cardiologist did an angiogram and discovered that I had multiple blockages in my coronary arteries, including a 97% blockage in the Left Artery Descending, which could have resulted in a fatal heart attack. Amazingly, there was no heart muscle damage at all and my heart was still by his account quite strong. Because of that, they thought that I was a good candidate for a quintuple bypass. We talked it over (my wife and I and God) and decided that a bypass was not the best option for us. We asked the cardiologist  to do the angioplasty with stenting and he agreed, though he recommended the surgery. It was discovered that I was not sensitive to Plavix, an anti-platelet drug that is imperative to be on for the first year after stenting to keep the stents from clotting shut (re-stenosis). So they once again recommended a CABG (Coronary Artery Bypass Graft) procedure (crack the chest, harvest the veins, 8 week recovery, scarring, and a 5% chance of death). We prayed and felt God telling us “no”, to insist on the angioplasty and stents. But in order to even be able to do this they then had to try another anti-coagulant on me (Effient) because of my resistance to Plavix. If I was not sensitive to this drug there were no other options and I could not get a stent, but had to have the surgery. I was started on the drug and blood was drawn and sent for analysis about 3 hours later. It was an anxious 3 hours I can tell you! The results came back and showed I was 95% sensitive to Effi. Praise the Lord! So they made arrangements to get me in the cath lab as soon as they were able that evening. Family had driven down to be with me and it was so good to have my brothers there as I was wheeled off to the Cath Lab. The procedure took well over 2 hours. The cardiologist came out and told my waiting family that the procedure was a complete success and that I was 100% re-vascularized with no heart muscle damage! Honestly, I think he was about as surprised as anyone. He said the results were as good as if I had had the surgery. So on Tuesday around lunch time I was released from the hospital to come home and begin the recovery period-which is only just a few days, really. I should be more energetic and able to exercise better than before, and we have all made a commitment to living a healthier lifestyle and to living as long as God has for me. “My times are in Thy hand” (Psalm 31:15)
I believe that God has given me another chance at life and I aim to live it to its fullest. He is like that you know, a God of second chances. I believe that He is allowing all who know me (or read this) to participate in that lesson as well. And through the miracle of modern medicine and God’s marvelous Providence, I plan on passionately serving Him with a clean (and healthy) heart and a renewed, steadfast spirit all the remaining days of my life, until He calls me Home. “O Lord my God, I cried to Thee for help, and Thou didst heal me” (Psalm 30:2)
Under the Omnipotence,
theupwardcallofgod
About theupwardcallofgod

A disciple of the Lord Jesus Christ who believes that truth is ultimately revealed to the Christian by the work of the Holy Spirit and the Word of God (I John 2:26-27)
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christianity, comfort, heart procedures, inspirational, theology, truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Create In Me A Clean Heart

  1. Don says:

    What a miracle of life. I love to hear about God moving in our lives. bd

  2. A huge miracle God did in your life. He is not ready for you to go. Your faith held strong and he brought you through. I know to how great that can feel. I am praying for blessings on you and family. God loves us to eternity, Amen.

  3. Just checking on you are yours. You haven’t posted in a while. I just wanted you all to know God is thinking and praying for you. I hope all is well.

Leave a Reply Please!

